Australian Algebra Conference 01

Monday November 27 - Wednesday November 29, 2017

Venue: University of Technology Sydney

The aim of the annual Australian Algebra Conference is to foster communication between algebraists in Australia. We interpret algebra broadly, including areas such as topological algebra, algebraic logic, graph theory and coding theory. The conference is run by the Australian Algebra Group, which is a special interest group of the Australian Mathematical Society.


UTS Building 11, corner Broadway and Wattle streets, Ultimo.

Lecture theatres 11.00.405 and 11.00.401


A list of local providers is here




The Conference Dinner was held on Tuesday evening at Bohdi, Cook and Philip Park near St Mary's Cathedral.


UTS is conveniently located close to Central station, next to Chinatown and close to Darling Harbour.

Visitors from out of state should invest in an opal card upon arrival at airport or buy in advance online to be posted out. Unlike myki there is no cost for the card itself, purchase a $20 card and it has $20 credit. Top up online or at 7-eleven etc. Train from the airport to central is around $17 on opal card.


The Gordon Preston Prize is awarded for the best presentation at the AAC given by a current student based at an Australian university. The presentations will be judged by a panel appointed by the executive committee. The winner of the prize will receive $200. The Rules for the Gordon Preston Prize are available here

The winner(s) of the prize for 2017 are Becky Armstrong and Alex Casella (both of the University of Sydney), congratuations to both!


List of hotels and youth hostels close by:

  • try travel booking websites like Wotif, Expedia, Agoda, Booking ( for deals.

  • list of CBD hotels with discounts for conference participants is here

  • YHA Railway Square good youth hostel close by UTS and central station, rates around $35 p/n in shared dorm room, also private rooms

  • airbbnb

  • Capsule Hotel (a recommendation of Michal)


  • Professor Astrid An Huef, Victoria University of Wellington, New Zealand

  • Professor Anthony Bak, Bielefeld University, Germany

  • Associate Professor Intan Muchtadi-Alamsyah, Institut Teknologi Bandung, Indonesia



    • Tony Dooley, UTS

    • Murray Elder, UTS (local organiser) email:

    • Michal Ferov, UTS

    • Lucia Kralova, UTS (local administration, registration) email:

    • Lawrence Reeves, University of Melbourne

    • Anne Thomas, University of Sydney



  • Members of the Australian Algebra Group: $10

  • Students: $10

  • Members of the AustMS who are not members of the Australian Algebra Group: $30

  • Non-members of the AustMS: $40


  • Non-student: $50

  • Student: $25





AAC01 endorses this statement of inclusiveness and is a participating conference:

"We are a group of scholars, researchers, and teachers. We refuse to compromise the ideals of academic freedom and open exchange. We affirm that scientific events have to be open to everybody, regardless of race, sex, religion, national origin, sexual orientation, gender identity, disability, age, pregnancy, immigration status, or any other aspect of identity. We believe that such events have to be supportive, inclusive, and safe environments for all participants. We believe that all participants are to be treated with dignity and respect. Discrimination and harassment cannot be tolerated. We are committed to ensuring that the scientific events in which we participate follow these principles, and we request that organisers of scientific events make explicit statements on the event website to that effect."


List of talk titles and selected slides is here.


The conference series particularly encourages graduate students to give presentations on their work. Students from Australian universities, regardless of their intention to give a talk, are entitled to apply for a travel contribution (deadline passed). The amount will be a function of the number of applicants and where you are coming from, and will be announced soon after the application deadline. Preference given to students coming from outside of the Sydney metropolitan area. Unfortunately, it is not possible to provide any contribution to costs for students from non-Australian universities. Retired or unwaged participants may also request support by emailing the local organiser directly.

The deadline for travel funding applications was 27 October 2017.